Guilt Trips, Don’t Receive Them

by Admin

If you’re wrong, you’re wrong. But if you feel justified in what you said or the decision you made, don’t trip. Don’t let the devil try to condemn you because you settled. A couple drove up to my church’s parking lot one evening and asked for help putting gas in their “U-Haul” truck. They said, they miscalculated how much they needed for their journey and for some reason they had no cash, nor will their ATM card work. As much as I really want to help people, for I help people all the time with money, gas, food, etc. It had been a long challenging day and I was tired and headed straight home. I pondered and felt sympathetic towards them, but said, “I can’t do anything, I’m sorry”. They persisted, “but sir, all we need is a little gas and here’s my drivers license”. I said, “ it’s not a matter of trust, I get people asking for help all the time”. Then the guy abruptly cut me off and said, “it is trust, that’s why you said that”, then told his friend to go as he says something driving off. I stood there and thought to myself he thinks I lied. He didn’t let me tell him for a second time, no, and give my reason. I was just tired and didn’t want to be inconvenienced. On the way home, the devil tried his best to bother me with condemning thoughts for not helping. He used scriptures such as, “ for what you’ve done to the least of them, you’ve done it to Jesus”. But I thank God  there is no condemnation to them that are in Christ Jesus. I’m glad I know that Jesus came into the world not to condemn, but to save. Thank God we have verses that instruct us to cast down imaginations and arguments that exalt themselves against the word of God. This is a word to anyone who has an ear to hear. Never be condemned about things like this if you simply were not feeling it. Maybe God knew the people were not right anyway. Guilt trips, don’t receive them.

 

Please share your thoughts and join the discussion.

