How Faith Works: Content Being Single

by Admin

With the divorce rates amongst Christians escalating, more and more are finding themselves single once again. In many churches there are more singles than we have married. First of all either married or single, every believer has to work the word of God in order to maintain peace and joy through their times of adversity. Having the proper perspective is vital to living a successful single life. A love for God, a love for worship, a love towards pleasing God through obedience are some determining character traits of an individual ready to live the single life. In 1Corinthians chapter 7, the apostle Paul stated that it would be better for the unmarried to remain as he was (single), unless you can’t control your sexual passions (paraphrasing). A single Christian that is devoted to God has more time to spend tending to spiritual matters. A single Christian can take as long as he/she wants at home reading, praying, worshipping, and not be concerned about their spouse– whether or not there are domestic needs that require attention. A single Christian can serve in ministry freely and not have to hear a spouse complain about not getting enough attention.

 

Most of us are familiar with the word in Ecclesiastes 4:9 that says, “Two are better than one,” yes, but the word in Isaiah 54:5 says, “For your Maker (God) is your husband.” He can comfort us in our beds all alone. He is a companion like none other. He is a friend that sticks closer than a brother. He is the bread of life and as we partake of Him, we hunger for nothing. He satisfies and fills every space where partners in marriage can never occupy.

 

Some singles just want someone to go to the movies with or for a simple dinner occasionally. This is where faith must be exercised. When singles delight themselves in the Lord, He gives them the desires of their heart. It is well understood to have the desire for a physical companion. Those desires will manifest as that single individual continues to walk in confidence, not desperate for a mate, never compromising their integrity. God will surround them with the right people and He will be a shield for their protection. God won’t let anybody or anything hurt a single person who has demonstrated steadfastness, immovability and chasteness towards God. God loves you and wants you to be happy. You’re His ace in a society of married believers who can be inconsistent, unfaithful and unreliable towards God’s work. God loves you and has a jealous love for you. He really doesn’t want anybody to possess the quality time you have established with Him, yet He still wants you happy.

 

If you’re single, pray with me now:

 

Father, I pray that You would continue to strengthen me with might in my inner man. I thank You for the ability to walk upright before You and to be pleasing in all my ways. I thank You in that You’ve taught me how to be abased and how to abound, for I know I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. I pray that You would only allow the right people in my life– people who love You and have no hidden agendas. I thank You for men and women who are good for me and not a detriment.

 

Now, I declare that I am a strong committed man/woman of God and am perfectly content with You and You alone. I declare that my light shines and helps others to know You better. I declare that I am chaste, wholesome, a vessel of ministry and a vehicle of blessing. I declare that I am warm with You on the cold nights. You are my additional hands when I need help and I agree with You for us two touching, for all my needs to be met. Your joy that is inexpressible and full of glory fills my heart and Your joy is and always will be my strength, in Jesus’ name. I thank You Lord for my wonderful single life.

 

Pastor Anthony E. Blackman

